Dobbs Hall is a dormitory for first year students at Emory University. It is always the top choice for the freshmen because of its wonderful location in the central campus and close knit community. Today, we are looking at the entrances of Dobbs Hall and trying to examine whether they are “accessible” enough.
There are two face-to-face entrances at the first floor of the hall, both of which required a proxy card for entrance. The left door is an accessible entrance and will open automatically after you swiping your card and pressing the button. However, by taking a try, I found that the design of the entrance might be not considerate enough for people who may need to use the accessible entrance, especially wheelchair users. 
As we could see from the video, after I swiped my card and pressed the button, it took  a long time for the door to fully open in a really slow movement, for nearly ten seconds. But, it just kept open for less than five seconds and closed in an extremely fast manner. That could be really dangerous for the wheelchairs users and those who use the crutch temporarily. As they always move at a relatively slow speed, five seconds may be too short for them to get into the entrance. And the door may even hit them when it shuts suddenly.
Personally, I always use the other door on the right. Sometimes, I really get annoyed with the door. When I carry a lot of stuff on my hands, I need to put all of them on one hand or maybe some of them on the ground to get out the proxy card from my pocket. But after I swipe the card, put that back to the pocket, and pick up my stuff, the door just locks again. The door just keeps open for less than three seconds, which is really inconvenient for those who carry a lot on their hands. And to this specific group of people, the door is not necessarily accessible enough.

 




Leave a Reply.